NaPoWriMo2016, Poetry

Day Twenty-Two #NaPoWriMo 2016

Limpet
When was the last time I missed a deadline?
Mortified, terrified, make the panic mine;
been a while since the time I lived on air and moths,
now every day pushes under. Chlorophorm on cloth.
I knew all my rules, capitals and ancient civilisations;
now, I barely recognise myself in this nation;
no vision, no knowledge, just a shepherd’s flock,
bad supposition, miss the mark of a crusty sock.
Should I fly, jump, or sing like a bird?
Whatever saves me from this compulsory herd.
When will I know if I’ll I run, hide or fail?
Will you swap your siren song for my beached whale?
Standard

Leave a Reply

